This summer, Ov Shadows returns with their second full-length and first release on Hypnotic
Dirge Records. Entitled I Djävulens Avbild (In the Devil’s Image), the new record presents Ov
Shadows at an unprecedented ferocity and forward-momentum, and apparently very intent
on proving that to their listeners immediately, as pummeling drums and a heavy galloping riff
fill the speakers within seconds of the opening track “Den Eld Som Tär Och Förvrider.”
Throughout I Djävulens Avbild, the pace hardly ever lets up, instead taking you on an all-out
sensory assault. The combination of infectious riffs, recurring hooks, blastbeats, and tortured
vocals create an enveloping claustrophobic and dark dissonance, as if a shroud has covered
your face and defined forms have turned to shadows. Despite its unrelenting nature, the
details really shine through on I Djävulens Avbild thanks to its clear production, precise
musicianship, and deliberate flow. The few times where the record does slow down become
quite memorable due to the contrast. The use of powerful percussion and austere bass create
a trance-inducing atmosphere while discordant tremolo-picked melodies soar overhead
creating a wonderful juxtaposition that crescendos into catharsis



Ov Shadows is a Black Metal band from Gothenberg, Sweden. Rising from the ashes of Waning, a band that all four members previously played in,
Ov Shadows introduced their sound with the 2016 self-released EP Monologues before releasing its first full-length album The Darkness Between
Stars in 2018.
“Ov shadows is about exploring and embracing the dark aspects that dwell within us all – your ‘shadows-self’ as Carl Jung expressed it. Our vision
is to create an atmospheric Black Metal guided by chaos and darkness.

AA – Guitars
AF – Guitars
JW – Drums
RA – Vocals and bass

2020 – I Djävulens Avbild (full length)
2018 – The Darkness Between Stars (full length)
2016 – Monologues (EP)




Γράψτε ένα σχόλιο

Η ηλ. διεύθυνση σας δεν δημοσιεύεται.